In 2012 the ISZB initiated the award of a prize recognizing excellence in the field of Zinc Biology.

ISZB Call for nomination of Frederickson prize 2016.


Prof. Christopher Frederickson was among the first scientists who revealed a role for zinc in the brain. In the 1980’s his seminal studies identified a pool of mobile zinc ions in present in subpopulations of excitatory synaptic terminals.  He then led a series of important investigations determining the role synaptic zinc plays in neuronal function and dysfunction.  

His leadership in the field of Zinc Biology was crystalized by organizing the early Zinc Signals meetings, which laid the foundation for the development of the ISZB.  With this prize, Dr. Frederickson’s accomplishments and contributions to the field are hereby acknowledged by the ISZB.



The ISZB is proud to award

The Christopher J. Frederickson Prize

for excellence in research in the field of Zinc Biology 



The Inaugural Frederickson prize was awarded in 2012 to

Prof. Stephen Lippard and Prof. James McNamara 

for the development of novel tools to decipher the role of synaptic zinc in CA3 region of the hippocampus.


The 2014 Frederickson prize was awarded to

Prof. John Weiss

for his studies demonstrating the role of synaptic zinc translocation in neurodegeneration.